How Long Is Defensive Driving?
In the state of Texas the minimum time allowed by law for an approved Defensive Driving Course is 6 hours. All courses must be at least 6 hours long in order to be approved by the TDLR (formerly TEA). This includes both online and in-person courses.
Historically and across different states there are different requirements but as of 2020 in Texas all courses must currently be at least 6 hours long. Any course advertising less than 6 hours would not be considered an approved course.